Watchdog group to present annual awards to incoming CFPB Director Chopra, Michigan Governor and AG, and SEIU Local 2015 President Verrett on Tuesday, 10/12

October 11, 2021

Media contact: National Consumers League – Carol McKay, or (724) 799-5392

Washington, DC—The National Consumers League (NCL), the nation’s pioneering consumer and worker advocacy organization, will honor Rohit Chopra, incoming Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer, and Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel, with its highest honor, the Trumpeter Award, on Tuesday, October 12 in Washington, DC.

In addition to the Trumpeter Award, NCL will honor April Verrett, President of Service Employees International Union Local 2015 in Los Angeles, with the 2021 Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award, named for NCL’s first general secretary and one of the most influential figures in 20th Century American history.


What: National Consumers League’s 2021 Trumpeter Awards
When: Tuesday, October 12, 2021 | 7 pm Dinner and Presentation of Awards
Where: The Mayflower Hotel | Grand Ballroom | 1127 Connecticut Ave, NW, Washington, DC 20036

The National Consumers League, founded in 1899, has been honoring visionaries in consumer and worker protection with its annual Trumpeter Award since 1973. Past honorees include: Senator Ted Kennedy, the award’s inaugural recipient, as well as Labor Secretaries Hilda Solis, Robert Reich, and Alexis Herman, Senators Carl Levin and Paul Wellstone, Delores Huerta of the United Farm Workers, U.S. Representative John Lewis, and other honored consumer and labor leaders.

Last year’s Trumpeter recipients were Federal Communications Commission Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel and journalist Vicky Nguyen. Attorney General for the District of Columbia Karl Racine was recipient of the Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award.

This year’s Trumpeter Awards will feature a reception, dinner, and speaking appearances by NCL leadership and the honorees, as well as:

  • Maria Cardona, CNN Commentator & Principal of Dewey Square Group
  • Former FTC Chairman Jon Leibowitz
  • Grace Whiting, President and CEO of the National Alliance for Caregiving
  • Karl Racine, Attorney General of the District of Columbia
  • NCL Board Chair Dominique Warren, Deputy Director of Government Relations at Service Employees International Union

To learn more, visit

Due to COVID restrictions, attendance at this event is limited. Members of the media may inquire about attendance options by contacting Carol McKay, (724) 799-5392.


About the National Consumers League

The National Consumers League, founded in 1899, is America’s pioneer consumer organization. Our mission is to protect and promote social and economic justice for consumers and workers in the United States and abroad. For more information, visit