Consumer watchdog group to present 45th annual Trumpeter award to Senators Duckworth, Markey on Tuesday, 10/16

October 15, 2018

Identity Theft Resource Center’s Eva Casey Velasquez to receive grassroots activism award 

Media contacts: National Consumers League – Carol McKay,, (412) 945-3242 or Taun Sterling,, (202) 207-2832

Washington, DC— The National Consumers League (NCL), the nation’s pioneering consumer and worker advocacy organization, has announced it will honor Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and Senator Ed Markey (D-MA) with its highest honor, the Trumpeter Award, on Tuesday, October 16 in Washington, DC.

In addition to the Trumpeter Award, NCL will the honor Eva Casey Velasquez, President and CEO of the Identity Theft Resource Center, with the 2018 Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award.


What: National Consumers League’s 2018 Trumpeter Awards
When: Tuesday, October 16, 2018
7 pm Dinner and Presentation of Awards
Where: Marriott Marquis | Liberty Ballroom
901 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

This year marks the 45th anniversary year of the Trumpeter Award, which honors leaders in the fight for consumer and worker rights. Past honorees include: Senator Ted Kennedy, the award’s inaugural recipient, as well as Labor Secretaries Hilda Solis, Robert Reich, and Alexis Herman, Senators Carl Levin and Paul Wellstone, Delores Huerta of the United Farm Workers, and other honored consumer and labor leaders. Last year’s recipients were the legendary social justice leader Rep. John Lewis (D-GA) and then-Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Richard Cordray.

“Senator Tammy Duckworth embodies America’s best values throughout her career, as an Iraq War Veteran, a Purple Heart recipient, and former Assistant Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs,” said NCL Executive Director Sally Greenberg. “She is an inspirational leader and justice-minded policymaker on civil rights, standing up for immigrants and veterans, and speaking out on behalf of consumers on healthcare and justice reform. We are thrilled to honor her this October with this historic award.”

“For nearly five decades, Senator Ed Markey’s leadership has been a model for Americans of all generations,” said Greenberg. “Whether on issues dealing with commerce, protecting the environment, or in defense of privacy, healthcare, and cybersecurity, his commitment to policy that serves consumers and workers is exemplary.”

“Eva Casey Velasquez’s leadership at the Identity Theft Resource Center and her commitment to broadening public education and awareness about important issues that affect almost every consumer have earned her this year’s Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award,” said John Breyault, NCL vice president on public policy, telecommunications and fraud. “Velasquez’s work has helped to put consumers at the center of ID theft prevention, and we are delighted to present her with this award to honor her commitment to consumer education and protection.”

This year’s Trumpeter Awards will feature a reception, dinner, and speaking appearances by NCL leadership and the honorees, as well as Maria Cardona, CNN/CNNE Commentator & Principal of Dewey Square Group. To learn more, visit

Members of the media are welcome to attend this event but must RSVP. For questions or to RSVP: Call Carol McKay, (724) 799-5392 or Taun Sterling, (202) 207-2832


About the National Consumers League

The National Consumers League, founded in 1899, is America’s pioneer consumer organization. Our mission is to protect and promote social and economic justice for consumers and workers in the United States and abroad. For more information, visit