Congressman John Lewis, CFPB’s Richard Cordray to receive highest honor from pioneering consumer watchdog org – National Consumers League

October 24, 2017

FDA’s Dr. Janet Woodcock to receive Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award

Contact: Cindy Hoang (202) 207-2832,   

Washington, DC—The National Consumers League (NCL), the nation’s pioneering consumer and worker advocacy organization, will honor Georgia Congressman John Lewis and Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) Director Richard Cordray with its highest honor, the Trumpeter Award, on Wednesday, October 25 in Washington, DC. The award has honored leaders in the fight for consumer and workers’ rights for more than 40 years, and past honorees include: Senator Ted Kennedy, the award’s inaugural recipient, as well as Labor Secretaries Hilda Solis, Robert Reich, and Alexis Herman, Senators Carl Levin and Paul Wellstone, Delores Huerta of the United Farm Workers, and other honored consumer and labor leaders. Last year’s recipient was Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan.

“The Trumpeter Award is given to leaders who have dedicated their lives to social justice and to fighting for those who cannot defend themselves. This year’s Trumpeter recipients, the legendary Georgia Representative and Civil Rights leader John Lewis, and the indomitable head of the CFPB, Richard Cordray, will join this esteemed group as true American heroes. Congressman John Lewis embodies these values throughout his six-decade career representing citizens of the state of Georgia and across the nation, in his pivotal role in the Civil Rights Movement, and in his continued work in Congress today,” said NCL Executive Director Sally Greenberg. “CFPB Director Cordray’s commitment to regulating industry practices that prey on the most vulnerable consumers have earned him universal respect. As first director of the CFPB, he has set an inspirational trail for others to follow.”

Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award

In addition to the Trumpeter Award, NCL will the honor the recipient of this year’s Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award: Dr. Janet Woodcock, Director of the Center for Research and Drug Evaluation at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

“Dr. Woodcock is a passionate advocate for American patients and consumers, an ally to patient advocacy groups, and a fearless leader at the FDA,” said Karin Bolte, NCL health policy director. “Dr. Woodcock has helped transform the FDA into the agency it is today, one that strives to put patients at the center of its decision-making. We are delighted to celebrate her leadership and the difference it has made for America’s health.”

The event will feature a reception, dinner, and speaking appearances by NCL leadership and the honorees, as well as Maria Cardona, CNN/CNNE Commentator & Principal of Dewey Square Group, and Ellen Sigal, Chairperson and Founder of Friends of Cancer Research.


What:  National Consumers League’s 2017 Trumpeter Awards
When: Wednesday, October 25, 2017 | 7 pm Dinner and Presentation of Awards

Omni Shoreham Hotel
2500 Calvert Street, NW
Washington, DC 20008 

Members of the media are welcome to attend this event but must RSVP. For questions or to RSVP: Call Cindy Hoang, (202) 207-2832 or Carol McKay, (724) 799-5392.


About the National Consumers League

The National Consumers League, founded in 1899, is America’s pioneer consumer organization. Our mission is to protect and promote social and economic justice for consumers and workers in the United States and abroad. For more information, visit