Klobuchar, FTC’s Ramirez to receive highest honors from oldest American consumer watchdog – National Consumers League

September 30, 2015

Contact: NCL Communications, Cindy Hoang (202) 207-2832, cindyh@nclnet.org or Carol McKay (724) 799-5392, carolm@nclnet.org

Washington, DC—The National Consumers League (NCL), the nation’s pioneering consumer and worker advocacy organization, will honor Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Federal Trade Commission Chairwoman Edith Ramirez, with its highest honor, the Trumpeter Award, on Tuesday, October 6 in Washington, DC. The award has honored consumer and worker leaders for more than 40 years, and past honorees include: Senator Ted Kennedy, the award’s inaugural recipient, as well as Labor Secretaries Hilda Solis, Robert Reich, and Alexis Herman, American Federation of Teachers President Randi Weingarten, Senators Carl Levin and Paul Wellstone, Delores Huerta of the United Farm Workers, and many others. Last year’s recipient was Richard L. Trumka, AFL-CIO President.

“The Trumpeter Award is NCL’s highest honor, given to leaders who have dedicated their lives to improving the rights of consumers and workers. Senator Klobuchar and Chairwoman Ramirez embody these values, and their impressive careers have had a measurable impact on the marketplace for consumers,” said NCL Executive Director Sally Greenberg. “Senator Klobuchar’s leadership on regulation to strengthen consumer product safety legislation, on ensuring a fair and competitive marketplace, and increasing accessibility to communications, specifically in the wireless space, made her a perfect candidate for the award. Chairwoman Ramirez was chosen for her tireless efforts to combat deceptive debt collectors and advertisers, to ensure the privacy and security of consumer data, and to promote competition in the marketplace. We are delighted to honor these remarkable women with this year’s awards.”

“I’m honored to join the late Senator Paul Wellstone, my friend from Minnesota and a champion for American consumers, as the recipient of the National Consumers League’s Trumpeter Award,” said Klobuchar. “In this complex economy, people need strong advocates who will fight to ensure the safety and integrity of the goods, products, and services they buy. They also deserve fair and competitive marketplaces and accessible communications networks. I am proud to receive this award and will remain vigilant in my work to protect the American consumer.”

In addition to the Trumpeter Award, NCL will honor Maria Elena Durazo, International Union Vice President for Civil Rights, Diversity and Immigration with UNITE HERE! with the Florence Kelley Consumer Leadership Award, named after an early leader of NCL.

“Durazo is a passionate advocate for workers, a visionary for America’s national and local labor movements, and a pioneer among male-dominated union leadership,” said Greenberg. “We celebrate her inspiring role as a driving force in the fight for working class Americans in Los Angeles and across the nation—she is a truly deserving recipient of an award named for our pioneering Progressive Era leader, Florence Kelley.”

I’m delighted to accept an award named for Florence Kelley, a pioneer for consumer and worker rights, and it will be an honor to share the stage with Senator Klobuchar and Chairwoman Ramirez,” said Durazo. “I accept this award on behalf of brave hotel and food service workers. Now more than ever, America’s working families need allies and advocates who help give them peace of mind, ensure a fairer marketplace and workplace, and provide the security that will allow our economy to thrive in ways that benefits all—not just businesses, but also the workers whose blood, sweat, and tears make them successful.”

The event will feature a reception, dinner, and speaking appearances by NCL leadership and the honorees, as well as:

  • Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
  • Tefere Gebre, Executive Vice President, AFL-CIO

Media Advisory
What: National Consumers League’s 2015 Trumpeter Awards
When: Tuesday, October 6, 2015 | 7 p.m. Dinner and Presentation of Awards

Where: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, 400 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington, DC 20001

Members of the media are welcome to cover this event but must RSVP. For questions or to RSVP: Call Cindy Hoang, National Consumers League, (202) 207-2832 or Carol McKay, (724) 799-5392


About the National Consumers League

The National Consumers League, founded in 1899, is America’s pioneer consumer organization. Our mission is to protect and promote social and economic justice for consumers and workers in the United States and abroad. For more information, visit www.nclnet.org.